Talking to mark. Representative Haley Garrett

This is the fourth in a series of five interviews M.L.T.S. conducted with mark representatives across the country. mark., for those of you who don’t know, is an Avon company aimed at a younger clientele. Known for working with such celebrities as Lauren Conrad, the company is dedicated not only to  philanthropy, mark. is a company dedicated to helping college-aged girls make money and learn important business skills while they are in school. If you are interested in becoming a mark. representative, you can apply here.

mark. representative Haley Garrett is also a junior at UNC Chapel Hill double-majoring in political science and psychology.

M.L.T.S.: Can you tell us a little more about you? How old are you? Where do you go to school? What are you studying? Etc.

Haley Garrett: I am a 21 year-old from North Carolina attending UNC Chapel Hill.  I am in my Junior year double-majoring in Political Science and Psychology.  I plan to go to law school after graduation next year.

M.L.T.S.: How did you hear about the mark. program and get involved? How long ago was it that you got involved?

HG: My best college friend was involved in her campus program and recruited me.  I’ve been a rep myself for about two and a half years now.

M.L.T.S.: What have you learned or accomplished while involved in the program?

HG: I have learned the value of networking as a business tool.  Sales is all about who knows and trusts you, and having good people skills is an invaluable asset.  If you are genuine with others and knowledgeable about your business, it stops being work and becomes an enjoyable hobby.

M.L.T.S.: How do you think you’ll be involved with this in the next few years? Is this something that you’ve been told might lead to a full-time job later?

HG: I will definitely continue selling mark. throughout the next few years of school. It has been such a great supplemental income that fits your schedule rather than demanding hours of commitment that are impossible to find as a student.

Also, the mark. internship I had in New York City last summer gave such great experience in the beauty and fashion industry, expanding my business skills even further, which I would love to incorporate into my future career. mark. taught me that a successful career does not have to be a straight, pragmatic path but can incorporate your interests and be whatever you choose!

M.L.T.S.: What’s your favorite part of this?

HG: My favorite part about mark is that it is a company that I can be personally proud of.  With its m.powerment campaign (a philanthropic campaign to empower young women by working against relationship violence) and its free trade initiatives, I know that I can be standing up for what I believe in while having fun and doing what I love, working with makeup and fashion.

See also: Talking to mark. Representative Beth Heitker
Talking to mark. Representative Kelsey Riley

Talking to mark. Representative Sadie Howes

2 responses to “Talking to mark. Representative Haley Garrett

  1. Pingback: Talking to mark. Representative Ashleigh Angelette | M.L.T.S. Magazine

  2. Go Haley!! Miss ya girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

