Item of the Day: Fashion. love, Africa Bag

When I was in eighth grade, I learned to crochet, courtesy of our school’s Crochet Club, which donated hats and blankets to premature babies. It wasn’t long until I was using my skills for less philanthropic causes, and my green crochet bikini top made quite the splash when modeled by a male classmate.

I’ve since grown up and very rarely use my crochet needle. That’s only part of why I’m loving the line of bags produced under the name Fashion. love, Africa.

These $50 bags, of which there are eight styles available, are produced by single mothers and grandmothers raising (on average) three or four kids. They crochet these bags out of 100 percent post consumer plastic bags, which flow daily into the slums where they raise their families.

The company buys the bags directly from the women who make them (and for whom each bag is named after) so they can earn a steady income, and after profits, $10 from each sale is funneled back into the community where Mercy, Leah, Jane, Ruth, Grace, Rahab, Ann and Mary live. We love when fashion benefits people who really need help. – Rosella Eleanor LaFevre

Leave a Reply

