The Perfect Soft, Smokey Eye

I first fell in love with Rimmel London when Kate Moss was their spokesperson and the products were only available at Walmart. My first Rimmel London purchase was clear mascara that I used in trying to tame my brows. For the record: gelled eyebrows are a little funny looking.

Since then, Rimmel London has been sold in major retailers and drug stores all over. And my concept of makeup is a little more sophisticated. I honestly don’t wear much makeup from day to day, but when I do want to dress up the windows to my soul, I turn to the new Glam’Eyes Quad Palettes ($5.71). I’ve tried both the Smokey Brown and Smokey Purple sets, both of which have soft, delicate shadows that you can combine in various ways to create a great, light smokey eye.

Here’s how I do it: I swipe the lightest, most sparkly shade along the underside of my brows. The second lightest shade is applied to my entire lid. Then, I put the darkest shade below the crease in my lid and only on the outer half. The last shade goes on below the crease and on the inner half of the lid.

Another trick that works gorgeously: For darker, more vibrant colors, lightly wet your applicator before dipping into the shadow, then apply as normal.

All in all, these are beautiful shadows and I can’t wait to try the other ten quads.

– Rosella Eleanor LaFevre

Leave a Reply

