Potato, Potato

I don’t eat bread. I don’t eat pasta. My cereals are almost exclusively fiber-oriented. I kind of avoid carbs. But I do LOVE potatoes. Though I eat them in extreme moderation since they are notoriously dense, baked potatoes are on my official list of foods that are awesome.

Potatoes can be found in many forms, most notably French fries, mashed potatoes and baked potatoes. Here is why a baked potato, with the skin, is the best way to go.

 The skins…

Help preserve the nutrients inside the potato. As a whole, the potato + skin contains a ton of fiber, vitamin C, vitamin B6, copper, potassium, manganese and phytonutrients (a natural source of antioxidants). High in protein, potatoes are anomalies of the vegetable world.

Keep in mind:

  • Skins are on the outside–>they touch the ground–> if you’re worried about pesticides, buy organic.
  • Eating the skins and dousing them with butter or sour cream cancels out the benefits. The same goes for frying them. Try them plain, and if you can’t stomach it, pass. It’ll be better for you in the long run (I happen to love them plain so I guess I’m lucky).
  • For extra antioxidants, try my personal favorite, the sweet potato, instead of the traditional white.
Leave a Reply

