MY BUSIEST YEAR: A Lot to Learn

This past week was utterly nuts. No two ways around it.

As an RA, I had to meet with all of my residents one on one to fill out Roommate Agreements, I had residents coming to me with their personal issues, had my first hospital run and had to fulfill all other more regular duties.

For class, I had a list the length of a full piece of paper detailing all of the work I had to get done, only half of which I actually had the time to complete. I had a lot of planning to do and still have yet to do for Mirrorwall, since we have our first October staff meeting on Monday. I’ve been rehearsing my directing scene, which though it went well, was time consuming for me to look through and really create the vision I want to see come alive in the scene.

I reiterate . . . It’s. Been. Nuts.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel overwhelmed by everything in this past week. I have surely felt like there was much to be done in recent weeks since starting to be an RA/Full time student/Employee/Film company manager all at once, but this past week really did a number on me. I learned a lot about myself from it particularly in terms of how I plan things to get them done. But then, in my attempt to relax while doing not much in particular, I stumbled upon a quote that summed things up perfectly . . .

“The difference between school and life? In school, you’re taught a lesson and then given a test. In life, you’re given a test that teaches you a lesson.” -Tom Bodett

This whole year is really going to be one big test for me. Will I crumble under pressure, or will I rise to the challenge and show it who’s boss? Can I truly balance everything as well as I’d like to think I can, or do I sometimes need to throw in the figurative towel and ease back a bit. The tests I’ll endure in this coming year will be far harder than any written exam in my Shakespeare class. But what I take away from that, is that there are still many lessons for me to learn.

One of the things that happened to me this week a lot, was dealing one on one with my residents. I realized from that, that though I may be a few years older than them, and they’re freshmen with a lot to learn, there were things this week I was learning from them. Learning to have patience in the face of ignorance and that a supportive friend can make a world of difference.

Despite all my years of education and academics, I feel like these are the kinds of lessons that really shape who I am and I feel very lucky to have residents who remind me of that.

My residents wrote this next to my door and it made me feel so lucky to have such an incredibly sweet group of girls.

Leave a Reply

