Successful People Use Their Mornings Well

By Rosella Eleanor LaFevre

Look, I get it. Waking up sucks. Who wants to get out of their nice, cozy bed and head out the door to class or work? Certainly not this chick.

I set my work schedule so I don’t have to get up any earlier than 9 a.m. and most mornings, I reset my alarm for 9:50 a.m., giving me just a few minutes to get up, get dressed and get to the bus stop.

But maybe I go about this all wrong. Maybe I should get up early, read a few newspapers online and figure out what I need to accomplish during the day.

Laura Vanderkam, a journalist and author who writes about time management and finding career success, wrote What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast, which was published as an eBook by Penguin. An excerpt of her book has been published by FastCompany.com.

“That is ultimately the amazing thing about mornings–they always feel like a new chance to do things right,” writes Vanderkam. “A win scored then creates a cascade of success. The hopeful hours before most people eat breakfast are too precious to be blown on semiconscious activities. You can do a lot with those hours. Whenever I’m tempted to say I don’t have time for something, I remind myself that if I wanted to get up early, I could. These hours are available to all of us if we choose to use them.”

Now I feel inspired, like I need to get up early and dress for battle before most people are even eating breakfast. Tomorrow? I’ll probably hit the damn snooze button until I’m running out the door.

Do you think you’ll try updating your morning ritual to boost your chances of success?

[Image: Flickr user Arvind Grover]

Leave a Reply

