LOVE LESSON: Real Lovers Are Silly

Smiling lesbian couple shot by Bianca Crespo

Real lovers know how to laugh together, says writer Rae Bradley. (All photo rights belong to photographer Bianca Crespo)

“Anyone can be passionate, but it takes real lovers to be silly,” Rose Franken said.

There’s only so much passion a couple can have. I’m not saying you can’t have a lot, but there is a balance that’s required to make it work, as with anything in life. I really think Ms. Franken was onto something. You can be as serious, romantic, and passionate as you want; just make sure you have a good laugh while you’re at it.

My boyfriend Jon and I have been together for three years and three months now. We’ve had our bumps and awkward moments, but it’s never deterred us from being able to laugh at the situation (or each other). Obviously, some moments are more sensitive than others, and handling them accordingly is not only appropriate, but necessary. However, looking back, there has been a surplus of moments that could have turned sour, if not for our ability to throw a little humor into them.

One of the major reasons I fell in love with Jon was his ability to make me smile and laugh. Even now, there isn’t a day that goes by that he fails at that. And yes, admittedly, we have pet names for each other. We are that couple that friends call us “disgustingly cute.” I’ll be the first to say, frankly, we are ridiculous—but it has never gotten out of hand or in the way of important matters. I think our “silliness” is what has kept us so close all these years. And honestly… I wouldn’t change it a bit. – Rae Bradley

One response to “LOVE LESSON: Real Lovers Are Silly

  1. My boyfriend (also named Jon) and I are the exact same way! I would have sworn I wrote this, except we’ve been together four years and three months . Glad you have something special and silly 🙂

Leave a Reply

