FRIDAY FINDS: The Peter Pan Collar

Happy Friday, M.L.T.S. readers! My name is Crosby and I’ll be joining you for a weekly dose of fashion and fun. “Friday Finds” will feature items hand-picked for you by M.L.T.S. columnists that are on trend and ready to wear!

Here’s your fun fact of the week! Peter pan collars are named after actress Maude Adams’ famous role as Peter Pan in 1905. It became a fashion sensation back then, and up until the 1930s and 1940s. And now, it’s back in style. Big time. What I love about this trend is that, like the high-low hem, it can be applied to a ton of different pieces such as necklaces and shirts. But today, I’m going to focus on dresses.

Steal. Mart of China is a wholesale clothing site that sells, well, really really cute stuff at amazing prices. Unfortunately for me, since I’m a bit on the bigger side, they often don’t have my size, or make garments in only one size. But! There is hope. I’ve found a few pieces on this site that are perfect, such as…

Spot Print Chiffon Dress with Peter Pan Collar, Photo courtesy of MartofChina.com

This peter pan collared dress! The polka dot print is timeless while the lace collar puts the dress on trend. Perfect for class or work! And for a $11.43, it’s definitely a steal.

Split. This dress is perfect for the first time peter pan collar wearer. It’s plain enough that the focus is still on the collar and buttons. And, while it might look like a dress you wore when you were 4 or 5, it’s definitely still chic today.

Tracey Georgette Peter Pan Collar Stripe Dress, Photo courtesy of Boohoo.com

It comes in only two colors, teal or pink, and both are flattering on any body. For only £12.00 (which is about $18.70), you can add it to your wardrobe. 

Splurge. To be honest, it’s always the splurges that I want most! This dress is a perfect example of how a peter pan collar can look cute, but grown up, all at the same time. The back has a little peek a boo panel that adds just a touch of sexy to an otherwise conservative dress.

Flower Print Open Back Dress with Peter Pan Collar, Photo courtesy of Ustrendy.com

But unfortunately, for a poor college girl like myself, I’ll have to admire from afar with a price tag like $67 (it’s on sale from $90.70). Still, maybe some of you can add it to your closet!

Bonus! And, because I couldn’t resist not showing you guys, here’s my favorite dress I came upon while writing this column. It’s a tad pricey ($72.94), and I personally think a bit dressy for my wardrobe at least, but super cute. Check it out!

Beautiful Black Peter Pan Collared Dress, Photo courtesy of ASOS Marketplace

Thanks for reading Friday Finds! I’d love to hear your feedback. What did you think? Would you like to see some ways to wear the outfits? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

