EDITOR’S NOTE: Should Ann Romney Shut It?

“This is hard. You want to try it? Get in the ring.”

Such were Ann Romney’s words in response to criticism of her husband’s presidential campaign. She was on Radio Iowa a few days ago when she said these words, which have potential to really harm her husband’s campaign. But should we be so harsh? I know I’ve faced moments when things were really tough and while others judged me, I just wanted to cry, “You don’t know what it’s like!”

Every one of us faces endless challenges in our lives (even, apparently, rich white men like Mitt Romney), and sometimes we hit our breaking points, as apparently has Mrs. Romney. It can feel an impossible feat, facing down criticism from people who you really feel are unfair for leveling it against you. And even when there’s nobody criticizing you, but things just seem insurmountable on their own, it can be hard not to whine in the manner of Mrs. Romney.

Take running this magazine, for instance. It’s a really hard thing to do. Sure, I love it, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have moments where I want to say, “This is really hard and I don’t know what to do anymore!” But generally, I hold my tongue.

Because my readers and my writers don’t want to hear this. They want a fearless leader (or “Fearless Editor,” as sometime-contributor and friend Michele Elaine Hannon has called me on multiple occasions), and I’d really like to oblige. I don’t want to seem weak or weepy.

The only person I try to tell this stuff to is my boyfriend and one or two other close friends/mentors.

And honestly, it’s a little gratifying to hear an admirer praise all your hard work  after months or years of keeping your mouth shut about just how hard you’ve got it.

Do you think all women should keep their mouths shut when they’re going through something tough? Or just Ann Romney? Or should we all be open and honest about the difficulties we face?

On that note, sorry it’s been a while since we’ve had a new issue out. Our writers get swamped with schoolwork and such and don’t always turn stuff in on time. We’re working hard to figure this thing out…

Leave a Reply

